New player question regarding PK-ing

Moderator: Support Moderators

Disturbedjake

New player question regarding PK-ing

Post by Disturbedjake »

Hi Everyone!! im new to the UOSA community and my main concern is getting the crap kicked out of me by PK's. How often should I expect to be attacked and as a newer player what steps can I take to prevent this? Thanks in advance! -Taerin

the bazookas
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!

Re: New player question regarding PK-ing

Post by the bazookas »

The frequency that a PK raids a dungeon depends on the popularity of that dungeon and the time of day. I've farmed some places for a few hours and never seen one. I farmed others and seen several in an hour. It also is a bit random; even the PK "hotspots" won't have a PK for a few hours at times.

In order to avoid PK's, it's good to
1) keep magic reflect up as much as possible (not easy when you are meleeing air elementals, etc) since this will often give you enough time to recall without having your spell be disturbed.
and most importantly
2) have an "escape" macro assigned to a hotkey, where that macro is basically you casting recall and targetting your getaway recall rune. Helps escape quickly ;) Have to reassign the rune every time you get a new one though.

If you are a mage, having GM wrestling will make it so they hit you only 50% of the time with their melee attacks, which helps you get your recall off. If they are spamming the harm spell to continually disrupt your recall, it might be good to run for a bit, especially to some kind of "teleporter" like stairs or a dungeon entrance, and THEN hitting them recall hotkey.
Most people like us, or at least they like what we do. Regardless, we appreciate all our victims, and we hope that their encounter with us is a memorable one.
-a machine gun, a bazooka, and a grenade
... a not-for-profit organization (usually)

Disturbedjake

Post by Disturbedjake »