All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules


Posts in this forum are expected to be constructive, realistic and civil. Inflamatory or off topic posts will be removed.


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:12 am 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 303
Apparently, this system wasn't put into place until August of 2000.

http://www.uoherald.com/news/news.php?newsid=615

If the removal of the system does not put a huge burden on Derrick and the staff, i propose that it should be removed.

If you get stuck on an island or in a dungeon, it's not too hard to find a friend/some random person in IRC to gate you out. I feel that the current system is abused in a carebear type of way.

If the system is allowed to remain, please add in the stuck feature for reds. They are supposed to be teleported to the chaos shrine. Currently, reds cannot use the system.

Thanks.


Top
 
These Support SecondAge
Links open a new window.
UOSA Donors & Subscribers do not receive these ads.

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:14 am 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Kind
 Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 3:28 pm
Posts: 1763
Location: North Brit
If someone legitamently gets stuck though and staff isn't on, that would mean that their character would be stuck until staff were on. Maybe that's the reason that they have this in possibly.

_________________
Image


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:20 am 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 303
The question is: How often do people get stuck? I've been playing here for well over a year, active most of the time, and i've never gotten stuck.

either way, the murderer option for the help menu should be added.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:24 am 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Kind
 Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 3:28 pm
Posts: 1763
Location: North Brit
A lot of people who don't have the right client, and don't know about resynching client. Espically newbies and newcomers to the shard.

_________________
Image


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:27 am 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 303
Mirage wrote:
A lot of people who don't have the right client, and don't know about resynching client. Espically newbies and newcomers to the shard.


If they don't have a resync macro in place, i'm sure they will attempt to log out then back in to correct the issue.

I just feel that the current non accurate system, a system of free transportation, is abused, a LOT.

Once again, either way, the murderer option should be added.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:34 am 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 5109
I get stuck on an island quite a bit . Either a pk is camping or a mare or random monster gets me while i'm afk.

If they remove this due to era accuracy then they would need to hire a full time staff to answer calls. OSI had a full office of GMs and still had to initiate counselors to keep up. If they can't get enough of those then they aren't era accurate anyway and should leave it alone.

_________________
"I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's it seems weird and scary to me, and it'll happen to you, too." Grandpa Simpson


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:38 am 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 303
Robot wrote:
I get stuck on an island quite a bit . Either a pk is camping or a mare or random monster gets me while i'm afk.

If they remove this due to era accuracy then they would need to hire a full time staff to answer calls. OSI had a full office of GMs and still had to initiate counselors to keep up. If they can't get enough of those then they aren't era accurate anyway and should leave it alone.


I do not believe "help i'm stuck" was intended to help people stuck on islands/the depths of dungeons. I believe it was to help players who were stuck in the ground due to bugs/glitches.

I dont expect this thread to get much support, nobody wants era accuracy when it bothers their style of gameplay.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 3:43 am 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 5109
This isn't a style of game play. This is not about accuracy. This is about technical issues with people being stuck and not enough man power to get them to safety. It was put in the game because most of the GM/counselor calls were stuck issues and they were about to get rid of counselors at the time.

If you can't get anywhere from where you are (such as an island with no exit) then you are legitimately stuck.

_________________
"I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's it seems weird and scary to me, and it'll happen to you, too." Grandpa Simpson


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:39 am 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:05 pm
Posts: 544
valheru wrote:
I dont expect this thread to get much support, nobody wants era accuracy when it bothers their style of gameplay.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:09 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:09 am
Posts: 949
Robot wrote:
If you can't get anywhere from where you are (such as an island with no exit) then you are legitimately stuck.


No, you are legitimately stuck in any graphics/terrain errors.

If you're stuck on an island due to careless game play or from being unprepared, that's not "being stuck".

And with the 3 accounts there's really no reason that anyone should be stuck on an island, when youve got 10 other character slots to get your "stuck" character out.

_________________
Yew Bank Mall - UOAM v8.3/v9/UOSA Client Installer - UOSA @ SourceForge.net (Latest Versions Here) - Treasure Maps Offline


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:13 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:05 pm
Posts: 544
If I get killed deep in a dungeon or somewhere where I'm just too lazy to actually run back to civilization you're damn right I'm using the "I'm stuck button".
It is a gameplay thing.
How many people are legitametly stuck, where a GM would actually move them in the first place? I mean you're on a shard where most people are vets for cripes sakes.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:19 pm 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 5109
And there you are making an assumption. Let's just put a sign saying "new players not welcome, enjoy your island".

_________________
"I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's it seems weird and scary to me, and it'll happen to you, too." Grandpa Simpson


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:49 pm
Posts: 9003
Location: Cove
Staff will not move players off islands, or otherwise give them a free ride to town. but people really do get stuck in the map, especially those using post-6.x clients because of map differences.

I don't like having the menu either, and have tried to brainstorm some reasonable way to automate an unstuck without using the out of era menu.

In the meantime, I am in agreement that the menu should function the way it did on OSI if we're going to have it. I was unaware it would transport reds to the Chaos shrine.

_________________
Image
"The text in this article or section may be incoherent or very hard to understand, and should be reworded if the intended meaning can be determined."


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:24 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:05 pm
Posts: 544
What I'm saying is that there is probably such a minute amount of legit "I'm stuck" NEEDS, that GMs could probably handle them easy peasy and it wouldn't bog the que.

If you really want to change this into a "invite new player" topic, simply implement the young status system (since this is era accurate) and the only time this button should be activated is when a player is still in their "young" status.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Help I'm Stuck - Era accuracy and Not correct
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 1:04 pm 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Good
Good
 Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:35 am
Posts: 7245
Location: 你的錢包
I think that the delay on "IM STUCK" should be set much longer, like a half hour to an hour. That simulates the "wait" for t2a accurate GM's as well as reduces the mis-use of this feature. If someone was legitimately stuck in a glitchy tile, and logging/resyncing wont work, this hour-wait option will help them out as a last resort when GM's are not online. Let's face it, they have 14 other characters they could be playing in the mean-time.

I do believe that the use of "IM STUCK" inside houses (teleporting you to the sign) should be completely removed. People (myself included) abuse this all the time, and it was certainly not possible in t2a.

_________________
Image
[cA] tales of adventure


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Support Second Age: These links Open in a New Window

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Extended by Karma MOD © 2007—2012 m157y