All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:46 am 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 8
this might fix ur pops in the sound
run winecfg

set the sound driver to ALSA only

set the acceleration to Emulation
and click the emulation check box

but i cant get MIDI to work


Top
 
These Support SecondAge
Links open a new window.
UOSA Donors & Subscribers do not receive these ads.

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:05 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:43 pm
Posts: 30
ALSA was already set, and switching to emulation didn't help. At any rate, I can deal with sound cutting out periodically (though keyboard mapping abruptly changing to act like I'm holding down alt is annoying). What's bad is Razor hotkeys don't seem to register. It makes me very concerned about my future in PvP.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:58 am 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:54 am
Posts: 5
I can't seem to get this to work, Just got Wine working, Installed UO, had used Winetricks - dotnet2.0 but when I go to install razor it still says that dotnet2.0 isnt installed.

What do?


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:55 am
Posts: 8
Location: Pavia (Italy)
Noodlestein wrote:
I can't seem to get this to work, Just got Wine working, Installed UO, had used Winetricks - dotnet2.0 but when I go to install razor it still says that dotnet2.0 isnt installed.

What do?


same problem here :(


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
Nice post, easy to install and run... I'll start playing right now, thank you guys.

Just one question, how to make it fullscreen? I did try the winecfg, emulating a virtual screen to 960x600, but it didn't work... still running in a window. What's the trick here?

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:20 am 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
Just for clarify... my screen have a 1680x1050 resolution, and UO have a 1024x768 max size... I'd set wincfg to use a 900x600 resolution, so you can think there's full room to display UO on fullscreen...

But I just can get a window 900x600 in size on the 1680x1050 screen. Making the window maximized don't help me... How can I set it up? Any ideas? Any idea will be welcome, thanks.

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 11:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
I found it. Just go to Razor's tab 'more options' and set the size you want in 'screen size'. It'll make the trick.


Attachments:
Tarzan_9-21_00.00.jpg
Tarzan_9-21_00.00.jpg [ 200.55 KiB | Viewed 2350 times ]

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!
Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
One more problem, if there's someone to help me... Why can't I set a hotkey in Razor with Ctrl? Example - If I set Ctrl+M to start Animal Taming, it shots the skill with M only, it doesn't matter if I press Ctrl or not. It works the same way to Alt and Shift. Someone knows why?

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
Too bad... No fix for this.

http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=5623

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
...but is amazing anyway, look my screen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7e7ZvhuNC0

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:03 pm 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Kind
 Profile

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:15 pm
Posts: 3329
Location: I put an r in it http://my.uosecondage.com/Status/Player/67484
Kabup wrote:
...but is amazing anyway, look my screen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7e7ZvhuNC0



Cool, what did you make the video with?

_________________
Image
rdash wrote:
BLACKFOOT STAY AWAY FROM MY FRIENDS OR MEET A BLADE OF VANQUISH AND ADDITIONAL TACTICS


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
recordmydesktop, you can get it from repository sources. It is a command line application, but there's a gui avaliable too.

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:49 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:34 pm
Posts: 4
I'm running under wine in openSuse 11.1 works great for me except I can't get music to play. Sounds work but no music. The mp3 files exist and play fine. In options it is set to play both sound and music. I downloaded the client on the uosecondage homepage.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 11:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:10 am
Posts: 139
You'll need the codecs, I presume. Try winetricks, and install WMP9 codecs.

_________________
Slowly Lord British, ruler of Britannia, rises from his throne. Brushing the dust off of his crown, a concerned realization crosses his face. The rumors are true!


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: The....How to play UO on Linux Thread
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:37 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:34 pm
Posts: 4
Found something related on the wine wiki, it says exactly what you told me. Since I installed wine from the openSuse repo it was most likely not compiled to play mp3 as the entry suggests. I tried downloading wmp9 codecs through winetricks but it didn't work. I'm going to check if the files are in the location that this entry says.

Quote:
6.11.4. MP3s do not play in Windows Media Player or applications that depend on it

For MP3 sound to play out of the box in apps that use the WMP engine and codecs, you must have 32-bit libmpg123 installed on your system and Wine must have been compiled with MP3 support. Not all dis­tro packag­es provide this; openSUSE packages in particular are known to be compiled without MP3 support.

The workaround for lack of libmpg123 and/or winemp3.acm is to use the codec installed by WMP9, l3cod­eca.acm. Copy l3codeca.acm to the wineprefix's /windows/system32 directory (or use winetricks to install WMP9), then create a symlink to it named winemp3.acm in the same directory. Wine will then use the native codec to play MP3s.

This only affects WMP and apps that rely on it for MP3 playback (including Powerpoint). Apps that install their own MP3 codec, such as Winamp or VLC Player, should be able to play MP3s without this workaround.


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Support Second Age: These links Open in a New Window

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Extended by Karma MOD © 2007—2012 m157y