All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:59 am
Posts: 79
Location: Colorado USA
According to the oldest stratics mirror they were blessed. http://web.archive.org/web/19990508045817/uo.stratics.com/homes/ Sometimes the link works, sometimes it doesn't. :wink:


Top
 
These Support SecondAge
Links open a new window.
UOSA Donors & Subscribers do not receive these ads.

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 4:34 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:57 pm
Posts: 4
Hmm, what about alts? I want to use only one house for all of my characters, is there a way to do it? I tried to copy a key so that my other characters could have one but it didn't work.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:23 am 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:59 am
Posts: 2011
Location: [Set Grief = True
You can either transfer keys every time you want in, place a key on your front porch and lock it down, or unlock your doors and secure your house off. (securing your house off takes only a moment)

_________________
#1 PK Guild on T2A
ironfistmax wrote:
Alatar is one of the best PvPers I have known. I have played UO since 1998 and every free shard known to man. It's not questionable whether he is good or not.
Hemperor wrote:
Alatar is a douche bag but at least he and cr3w would fight everyone.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:30 am 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:49 pm
Posts: 9003
Location: Cove
Veeleko wrote:
Hmm, what about alts? I want to use only one house for all of my characters, is there a way to do it? I tried to copy a key so that my other characters could have one but it didn't work.

Do you mean to say you successfully copied a house key, but it wouldn't unlock your house, or that you were not able to copy the key?


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:39 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:59 am
Posts: 2011
Location: [Set Grief = True
I didn't know it was possible to copy keys, or am I confused.

_________________
#1 PK Guild on T2A
ironfistmax wrote:
Alatar is one of the best PvPers I have known. I have played UO since 1998 and every free shard known to man. It's not questionable whether he is good or not.
Hemperor wrote:
Alatar is a douche bag but at least he and cr3w would fight everyone.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:49 pm
Posts: 9003
Location: Cove
alatar wrote:
I didn't know it was possible to copy keys, or am I confused.

Aye, tinker can copy keys. Use blank key on existing key. Blank keys can be purchased from tinker shop of crafted


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:59 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 10:57 pm
Posts: 4
Aaah, need to be tinker for that. Explains it. Thanks.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:41 pm
Posts: 196
Two other things housing related that are not quite era accurate is Strongboxes for coowners and item decay in houses. Strongboxes were added in Nov of 99, so era accurate is interpretation of early or later T2A. Item decay in houses did not start until Jan 2000 as part of the clean up of Britania phase 3. As perspective, April 2000 UO:R was implemented.


http://www.uoguide.com/Publish_1
http://www.uoguide.com/Publish_2

Publish 1 on November 23, 1999.
Publish 2 on January 24 2000

Co-owner Features

Co-owners will be able to do everything that an owner can, except:
Transfer ownership of the house.
Re-deed a house.
Add another co-owner.
Change the house locks.

Co-owners can also place one secure container, called a "strongbox".
To place a strongbox the co-owner must say, "I wish to place a strongbox". The strongbox will appear at your feet.
The strongbox can only be accessed by the co-owner who placed it and the owner of the house.
A strongbox can hold up to 25 items and has no weight restrictions. Note that the strongbox is a secure container, but items in the box do not count against the total number of lockdowns for that house. These strongboxes are additional storage.
A strongbox belonging to a co-owner that is removed will become unsecure (and subject to decay) as soon as it is accessed again.
Other characters on the same account that are being treated as co-owners will NOT be able to place a strongbox.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:47 pm 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:45 am
Posts: 213
Location: Windemere woods
Veeleko wrote:
Aaah, need to be tinker for that. Explains it. Thanks.



I have successfully copied house keys with 0 tinkering skill. Just takes a couple times.

_________________
Guerrilla wrote:

i know i cry alot.... its only because i suck, and I'm going to uninstall UO as you read this


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:10 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:59 am
Posts: 2011
Location: [Set Grief = True
Maleficia wrote:
A strongbox can hold up to 25 items and has no weight restrictions.

reg box :mrgreen:

_________________
#1 PK Guild on T2A
ironfistmax wrote:
Alatar is one of the best PvPers I have known. I have played UO since 1998 and every free shard known to man. It's not questionable whether he is good or not.
Hemperor wrote:
Alatar is a douche bag but at least he and cr3w would fight everyone.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:29 am 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:49 pm
Posts: 9003
Location: Cove
Yes, we intentionally do not have strongboxes. This was created because of lack of housing space, we don't have this problem here.

Do do intend to turn off item decay in houses.

"No item decay in houses" and strongboxes weren't in game at the same time I don't believe.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:13 pm 
Offline
User Rep: Unsung
 YIM  Profile

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:10 am
Posts: 3
Location: Baqubah, Iraq
Strongboxes were also only intended for the co owner.

"I wish to place a strongbox"

The owner could not access it. Only drop items in it. However there were glitches as to how to remove it if needed or wanted. But yes, originally 25 items, no weight limit.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Housing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:41 pm
Posts: 196
Ankur wrote:
The owner could not access it. Only drop items in it. However there were glitches as to how to remove it if needed or wanted. But yes, originally 25 items, no weight limit.

Incorrect, The owner could fully access, but no other characters on the owners account could.


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Guide : Housing
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:35 am 
Offline
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
User avatar
User Rep: Unsung
 Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:21 pm
Posts: 182
Location: Vesper
Just to make the decay thing totally clear, items DO decay in houses.

Or at least they did when I forgot to lock down piles of a few thousand of each coloured ingot a while back. Luckily my brain was half functioning at the time and I did remember to lock down my collection of verite and valorite ingots.

_________________
Disco Damnation: "Why is my mouth so dry? I think I need something to eat."
Large Piece: "Damn, fencing is useless..."

Image


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Guide : Housing
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:15 am 
Offline
User avatar
User Rep: Trustworthy
Trustworthy
 WWW  ICQ  Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:49 pm
Posts: 9003
Location: Cove
LargePiece wrote:
Just to make the decay thing totally clear, items DO decay in houses.

Or at least they did when I forgot to lock down piles of a few thousand of each coloured ingot a while back. Luckily my brain was half functioning at the time and I did remember to lock down my collection of verite and valorite ingots.

This was changed on Aug 8:
Subject: Patch 52 - August 8, 2008
Derrick wrote:
  • Items in houses will no longer decay
  • House doorway restrictions of lockdowns, add-ons and guildstones
  • Containers may no longer be secured on house steps
All existing lockdowns, add-ons and secures are grandfathered.


I'm hoping that you mean that happened to you before this recent patch?


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Support Second Age: These links Open in a New Window

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Extended by Karma MOD © 2007—2012 m157y