UO Window not appearing

Post Reply
mkgref
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:41 am

UO Window not appearing

Post by mkgref »

I have been playing for about a week now with no problems. I always open UO and connect through Razor. This afternoon when I went to log in, I connected as normal (clicked on Razor, selected shard, and character). But once I selected character the UO window disappeared.

I then tried the same thing with my other account and no problems. Everything is exactly as normal - I select a character, the screen loads and I'm good to go.

With the first account (the one that disappears) I can run Razor macros and see the Razor screen...just not the UO screen. I am guessing the program is running correctly and the window is "showing" but that it's simply completely off the screen.

I have tried changing to a higher resolution as well as doing extended desktop but it's nowhere to be seen.

Is there any way to re-center the window?

Thoughts?

Alex the Artist
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 5:08 am

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by Alex the Artist »

Start razor and connect to UO and get to the point where UO is running, but not on the screen. Right click on the UO task at the bottom of your screen and click 'Move'. Make sure you don't move your mouse after you click Move. Then, hit your up arrow on your keyboard a couple of times. Then, move your mouse and you will see that the UO window will appear and will be getting dragged around by your mouse. Position the UO window where you want it and then left click. Your mouse will let go of the window and you will have your UO window back.

Just make sure you don't move your mouse after you click 'Move'. If you do, just right click again and select 'Move' again.

Actually, just tested it. It doesn't matter if you move your mouse after you click 'Move'. UO just won't be attached to it until you hit the up arrow on your keyboard.

User avatar
Derrick
Posts: 9003
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: Cove
Contact:

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by Derrick »

Another note to add to the above, on Windows7 you have to hover over UO in the task bar until the little window listing the applications comes up, and then right click on one of those to choose move.
Image
"The text in this article or section may be incoherent or very hard to understand, and should be reworded if the intended meaning can be determined."

mkgref
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:41 am

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by mkgref »

That did the trick, thank you both!

mje173
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:41 pm

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by mje173 »

did the trick, thanks!

Heckler
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:38 pm

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by Heckler »

just to add another method that worked for me with this problem since i played uo the very first time (yes this flaw in the client actually is there since the beginning of uo ^^)

if you log in normally and ur window dissapears just hover over the task in the taskbar rightclick the task and select maximise then after u did that close the uo window clicking on the X in the upper right corner and restart the client again now you can de maximise the client again and it wont dissapear.
Image

rogue78
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 12:47 am

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by rogue78 »

Try Alt + Enter!

User avatar
Chaos
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
Posts: 1456
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by Chaos »

So glad we have a helpful community. TY everyone.
Image

[21:27] <@Derrick> UOSA is a tribute to the feasibility of anarchy

Cino
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by Cino »

Thanks everyone! It happened to me as well so this post and the replies were very helpful!

mrbojangles
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
Posts: 925
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:24 am

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by mrbojangles »

In windows 7 the easiest way to see the move option is to select the window and press alt+space.

edit: corrected to ALT+space.
Last edited by mrbojangles on Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Omar Little(irc) / Mr Bojangles / Bowie / Snake Plisken / Martin Van Buren / Dirty Ore

Visit the The Yew Gate Shop for everything you need.

User avatar
the bazookas
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
Posts: 671
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by the bazookas »

I think it's Alt-space ;) I have to use this all the time b/c I switch monitors on my laptop a lot and my UO window is often lost in cyberspace.
Most people like us, or at least they like what we do. Regardless, we appreciate all our victims, and we hope that their encounter with us is a memorable one.
-a machine gun, a bazooka, and a grenade
... a not-for-profit organization (usually)

zalbag
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by zalbag »

I'm Using windows 7 ultimate.Hover over application in taskbar.Alt-space,select move.Move the window and u should be good.

randale
Posts: 852
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:42 pm

Re: UO Window not appearing

Post by randale »

Just to clarify with windows 7, hover over the icon, then the UO- charactername (SecondAge) will appear, THAT is what you want to right click, not the icon itself in the taskbar. Once you've right clicked it you can choose move, or maximize, min, size or close. The taskbar icon when you right click it, will only show you: 1. UO Client 2. Pin this program to taskbar and 3. Close all windows.

But, I wonder why it's starting this way. It's starting this way all the time now. I sometimes leave my computer on to macro overnight, and, of course it disconnects at 7:20 in the morning, or if there is something else that makes the server disconnect/a problem with my connection to the server. Maybe that has something to do with it.

Post Reply