My lag issue, need some help.

Tronica
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:38 pm

My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Tronica »

Here is my problem.

I just recetly started getting lag spikes on UOSA. These lag spikes are wierd in the fact that when I'm lagged out, which can last from 30 seconds to a minute, I can still see everyone talk and move around me.

I have used both of my installed clients and still have the issue.

I was getting these spikes on test regularly, but not on the real server until just a day ago.

I am able to relog quickly and come out of the lag, but it is only a temporary fix because the spikes seem to be coming every few minutes.

I am running Windows Vista and Clearwire Wi-Max internet.

I ran a traceroute and everything times out. Here is a copy of that.


C:\Users\Tron>tracert test.uosecondage.com

Tracing route to test.uosecondage.com [208.125.95.42]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms mywimax [192.168.15.1]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * 215 ms 194 ms rrcs-208-125-95-42.nys.biz.rr.com [208.125.95.42]

Does anyone have any advice for me or know anything about that traceroute?

noxmonk
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
Posts: 573
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 2:29 am

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by noxmonk »

should be running the traceroute to 64.34.163.237

Beetle Juice
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:22 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Beetle Juice »

I always lag when I am chasing someone and they have low health, or when I have low health I freeze up and when my screen unfreezes I am dead. I also run Vista, and This problem make it nearly impossible to ever kill anyone. This has frustrated me for a long time now. I think that the problem lies in Vista itself, because before I got this computer, I ran on XP, and it seemed o run smoothly.
Beetle Juice, Beetle Juice, Beetle. . .

[03:43] <beetlejuice> Hey, where did u get the idea for the small deco contest?
[03:44] <beetlejuice> Didn't you see my kitchen and copy mine?
[04:28] <Blackfoot> yea i stole your kitchen

User avatar
Derrick
Posts: 9003
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:49 pm
Location: Cove
Contact:

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Derrick »

Beetle Juice wrote:I always lag when I am chasing someone and they have low health, or when I have low health I freeze up and when my screen unfreezes I am dead. I also run Vista, and This problem make it nearly impossible to ever kill anyone. This has frustrated me for a long time now. I think that the problem lies in Vista itself, because before I got this computer, I ran on XP, and it seemed o run smoothly.

Turn off "Use smart CPU reduction" in Razor, this worked for me.

Beetle Juice
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:22 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Beetle Juice »

Derrick, I have just done what you suggested, and if this works I am forever in debt to you.
Beetle Juice, Beetle Juice, Beetle. . .

[03:43] <beetlejuice> Hey, where did u get the idea for the small deco contest?
[03:44] <beetlejuice> Didn't you see my kitchen and copy mine?
[04:28] <Blackfoot> yea i stole your kitchen

Proselyte
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Proselyte »

Derrick wrote:Turn off "Use smart CPU reduction" in Razor, this worked for me.


This worked for me too.

User avatar
Creager
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:15 pm
Location: NC

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Creager »

Razor's CPU reduction is a difference of like 25% CPU usage and 5 degrees celcus for me.

Beetle Juice: If you open and close UO positioning system, does the client 'unfreeze?'

I am running Vista 64bit and my UO clients occationally freeze up out of the blue, this is amplified while mutli-clienting. Opening and closing the UO:PS instantly fixes this.
Jono | Carnous | Micro

Beetle Juice
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:22 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Beetle Juice »

Creager: I have never really messed with the UO positioning system. The amount of time it would take me to open the Uo positioning system, would defeat the purpose of trying to stay alive. When I say freeze, it is only for a few seconds, but just enough to make my character stop running, and either lose an opponent or get caught. I do notice that when several players on my screen are casting spells that I freeze up as well. This happens mostly in events because of the number of people. My computer is brand new, I bought it for this game specifically, and this game is the only thing downloaded on here, and when I lag like this it makes me furious.
Beetle Juice, Beetle Juice, Beetle. . .

[03:43] <beetlejuice> Hey, where did u get the idea for the small deco contest?
[03:44] <beetlejuice> Didn't you see my kitchen and copy mine?
[04:28] <Blackfoot> yea i stole your kitchen

Nashringa
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:49 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Nashringa »

Im having the same problem. It seems to freeze around people all the time. Pretty frustrating help!

Brett
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 8:50 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Brett »

Has anyone mentioned the Resynchronize Client hotkey in razor? I believe it's under misc

Nashringa
UOSA Donor!!
UOSA Donor!!
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:49 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Nashringa »

I have tried everything that was suggested. I can't play cause i freeze up so often. ahhhhh

Beetle Juice
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:22 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Beetle Juice »

Since unchecking the CPU usage box, I seem to lag even worse. I now have had problems using my pots, it says I need to wait to perform that action. I am even more frustrated now, can anyone help me?
Beetle Juice, Beetle Juice, Beetle. . .

[03:43] <beetlejuice> Hey, where did u get the idea for the small deco contest?
[03:44] <beetlejuice> Didn't you see my kitchen and copy mine?
[04:28] <Blackfoot> yea i stole your kitchen

User avatar
Teph
Posts: 1726
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:42 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Teph »

i too am running on vista, and frequently i will lock up for a good 20 seconds. the end result almost always being my death

i will try what derrick suggested and update with the results
Image

Image

Proselyte
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Proselyte »

Beetle Juice wrote:Since unchecking the CPU usage box, I seem to lag even worse. I now have had problems using my pots, it says I need to wait to perform that action. I am even more frustrated now, can anyone help me?


I think this is more due to a recent patch. There is an option in Razor to change action queue delay and from what I understand changing it to 1000 has helped with the potion issue.

Reila
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Re: My lag issue, need some help.

Post by Reila »

Needs some attention. bump bump!

Seems that when logging on there is a much larger delay at the "connecting" and character screens than was prior to this issue.

Post Reply