Rules: How Not to Break Them.

Moderator: Support Moderators

donutboy.theerik

Rules: How Not to Break Them.

Post by donutboy.theerik »

I am fairly new to this shard and really enjoy playing here. But after a recent trip to the GM Prison, I thought I'd come to the forums and get some clarity to prevent further violations. Ignorance is no excuse, so I'm lookin' to get educated.

Rules as posted on the site:
*We allow unattended macroing with Razor (Download Here)
*You may not gather resources or items unattended. This includes mining, lumberjacking, lockpicking in dungeons, cotton pickin', and fishing in deep water.

Pretty straight forward. But I'd like to clear up some grey areas.

My Original Crime:
I was using a macro that would use lumber jacking whenever a tree was located at (0,1) to me. It would continuously gather from the tree, and after all the wood was gone my character would say "Whew!". I would then move my character to a new tree and start the macro again. I was using this in the woods west of Britain, when I was suddenly teleported to a holding cell and was told "No EasyUO" and as long as I promised to not use "EasyUO" I would be able to leave. I apologized and was set free.

I did some research to find out what EasyUO meant and discovered the old program. I had never heard of the program nor have I used the program or any of its macro scripts. I then deleted my macro and now use a razor macro that only double clicks on my tool. I am sure there are much friendlier gathering macros, but I really don't want to get known as a bad seed.

My questions are:
How unattended is unattended gathering? As in a macro that would take a specific tree or mining spot and collect it all with one button push. If you are there to activate it, are there to continue moving the character after the node is depleted, is it a violation?