New to the Shard

Topics related to Second Age
HoneyBadger

New to the Shard

Post by HoneyBadger »

Hey everyone. I played UO back in the day. I'm looking to get back into. I work full time as a software developer and my wife and I just had a baby so I won't be on all the time.

Been reading other posts from new people and it looks like it can be a little tough getting started. Provo/Magery the easiest to get a quick cashflow going?

I like how many people are on, I mean ~500 is pretty good for a game this old. Hope to see some of you in game and hopefully I won't be posting a rage reply in a couple days like the other new people posts! :)

folo

Re: New to the Shard

Post by folo »

This is what I did when I started here to get some immediate action:

Create 2 accounts (you are allowed to have 3 accounts max)

Make a bard on one account: 50 magery, 49 resist or meditation, 1 provocation or music, 60 str, 10 dex, 10 int
Make a warrior on the other account: 50 swords, 50 healing 60 str, 10 int, 10 dex

Immediately start macroing the bard by provoking an animal behind a fence etc onto yourself. In about 48h this character will be GM Music/Provo and gained a significant amount of dex and int. Check out the second macro on this page: http://wiki.uosecondage.com/Provocation

Once the bard is macroing away, get your warrior to the sheep pens in Yew, stroll around randomly in the woods and find some sheep to sheer. Get to a tanner shop, use the wool on a loom and spin the threads on a spinning wheel. Cut the bolt of cloth into sheets of cloth. Cut the sheets into bandages. Bingo! Now get out in the overland woods and kill low-mid end monsters for cash and items. Get some armor when you can afford it.

Once the bard is done, start using it. Roam the overlands and provoke ogres, trolls, ettins, gargoyles, air eles, water eles, sea serpents etc. Stay out of the dungeons, the Cove orc fort and the Yew lich spawn and you're at very low risk of getting pk'd. Bank often!